The Fisherman

sog7

Rarely do I feel compelled to explain my poetry. I feel once the author has released the poem from within, it takes on a whole different meaning on the outside as it now belongs to both the poet and the readers.   Since this poem is of a deeply spiritual and personal nature, I have included a brief explanation afterward.

The Fisherman

I threw my heart true into the ocean
in an amber bottle sold as magic potion
on raging waves I prayed for salvation
from a mad world born of man’s frustration

For forty days and forty nights alone
Cumbrous glum crests tossed my vessel wind blown
further away destination unknown
Blood drawn sharks forecast dark weather’s headstone

And I no usual damsel in distress cried tears
as I spied a lone ship to answer my prayers
A fisherman reeled me in to throw my heart back again
God’s lamb among men said life was for livin’

No forgivin’ when Love’s your action and your art
Salvation’s ark is built on earth’s one heart

(c) s l jennings “The Fisherman” poem

I wrote this poem before sunrise on Easter morning.  I awakened much earlier than normal.  This poem is for anyone who views and/or is viewed by the world through a distorted societal lense (glassbottle) – the lense could be religion, morality, role, image, expectations of others, etc. In youth maybe he or she buys into the bottle and takes the ride only to get lost in a filtered world and to later see truth is found in the authentic self with origins in a love for all people in all times. We are perfectly imperfect humans so this is easier said than done. I think a Love not lost in interpretation is what the fisherman wants us to find within our hearts on an ark of salvation built here and now.

My personal path of faith begins with Jesus Christ’s manifestation  of Love here on Earth and extends to a love of all people in all times regardless of race, religion, creed, etcetera.  Although religion can be a path of faith, Christ did not have a religion. He forgave Judas. He forgave his persecutors. He said to love one another and I believe He coexists in love with Allah and Buddha well as others including atheists.  Love is God.  God is Love.  I  believe in an afterlife and I believe that is a gift of Grace.  However  I also believe that we need to make our actions count to show our love of one another while we are here on Earth  and in that way we build the ark to salvation from suffering. These are my  personal  spiritual beliefs  in this post which is in no way intended to be a prescription for others.  I understand that each person spiritual path  is different. Each person takes their own meaning from life and poetry 🙂

About spiritedpoet

No online identity can truly define me. I am a kamakaze pilot of life. I have a navigation panel with controls, but I understand I cannot control external elements. I believe I am spirited with God (Love) to guide my life. I am human in my strength and my frailty. I somehow safely navigate my children through life's trial and errors. I proudly wear each stripe on my Mom's uniform; though, I still love the silky feel of soft négligée against my skin. I am human after all. Welcome to my Spirited Poet blog. Welcome to me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

