Starry Night

the-starry-night-van-gogh
Starry Night

Specks within dance as dust lit upon a sun-ray
whose lustrous beauty penetrates silhouette
shadows shifting with the wind-driven willows

Molecules wander, vanishing in darkness,
reborn in glittering optics which flourish
amidst blushing amber sunsets
mirrored in Halcyon’s tranquil ocean

Driftwood floating in twilight’s shadow,
I anticipate breath drawn in colors of night air
I gently lie down beneath weeping willows
seconds after the horizon defeats earth’s sun

I paint van Gogh in celebrations of belonging

Only then am I tempted from this leafed canopy
for fleeted footsteps jaunt me into the universe
where rolling meadows emerge boundless
enlightened by revelations of the evening’s first star

as an owl nocturnally haunts in the night
I am instinctively calm in this darkness
to trace Cassiopeia in child-like simplicity
while specks within dance as dust of a newborn star

I cradle in the Milky Way’s bosom
to nurse on subtle starlit blackness
I breath in the peaceful night air
to fill my lungs with cosmic dust

And, as my mind ponders this perplexity
my heart fills with wonderment
softly lulling me toward slumber

(c) s l jennings “Starry Night” poem

painting: “The Starry Night” by van Gogh

About spiritedpoet

No online identity can truly define me. I am a kamakaze pilot of life. I have a navigation panel with controls, but I understand I cannot control external elements. I believe I am spirited with God (Love) to guide my life. I am human in my strength and my frailty. I somehow safely navigate my children through life's trial and errors. I proudly wear each stripe on my Mom's uniform; though, I still love the silky feel of soft négligée against my skin. I am human after all. Welcome to my Spirited Poet blog. Welcome to me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Starry Night

  1. beautiful and wonderful write Sandy 🙂 love and hugs

    Like

  2. Sumyanna says:

    Absolutely gorgeous poetry. You take me there…

    Like

Leave a Reply

