Under The Apple Tree

dad-and-i

September leans into October
And I remember you and me
Feet wet walking misty orchards
We’d find our one perfect tree

Fresh scent of red apples above us
Your shoulders broad and strong
You raised me to higher boughs
As we sang our cheerful song

♪♫ “Don’t sit under the apple tree with anyone else but me” ♪♫
♪♫ “With anyone else but me…anyone else but me” ♪♫

You made a world within our reach
Where apples tumbled free
On perfectly crisp mornings
Apple picking – I remember you and me

As apples now fall from heaven to earth
Angels carry you home to me
And I wait sitting under the apple tree
For my first love you will always be

My precious Daddy

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Post Note: I wrote this simple poem on 09/27/2013 & share today for #throwbackthursdaypoetry

I always remember my late father around this time of year. Every year, he would load all six of us children in our family van & drive us miles away from our city home to the apple orchards in the countryside. Here we became free to shake & climb the apple trees ~ and, if we were too small to climb, he would lift us up to pick apples 🙂 He and my maternal grandmother were fond of singing the song “Don’t Sit Under the Apple Tree” from the 1940’s; a song well before my time which I will forever carry in memory of each of them.

I hope you all enjoyed this walk down memory lane 🙂

(c) 2013 Sandy Jennings aka sandy somewhere “Under the Apple Tree” poem

(c) 2016 s l jennings aka sandy somewhere photo

Lyrics quoted from “Don’t Sit Under the Apple Tree (with Anyone Else but Me)” as performed by the Andrew Sisters

About spiritedpoet

No online identity can truly define me. I am a kamakaze pilot of life. I have a navigation panel with controls, but I understand I cannot control external elements. I believe I am spirited with God (Love) to guide my life. I am human in my strength and my frailty. I somehow safely navigate my children through life's trial and errors. I proudly wear each stripe on my Mom's uniform; though, I still love the silky feel of soft négligée against my skin. I am human after all. Welcome to my Spirited Poet blog. Welcome to me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Under The Apple Tree

  1. I cried reading this Sandy,so glad that he left you with such a beautiful memory and song,he sounds like a kind soul,may his soul rest in peace,amen … i know exactly how you must feel about him and how you must miss him,isn’t is special that you had such a beautiful man in your life… BLESSED be you Sandy…have a nice weekend…do you visit that orchard during the apple season?

    Like

    • spiritedpoet says:

      Oh Seema… there you go now you are making me tear up with your comment. Yes I’m very blessed. We do go back to the orchard but it is under new ownership now and they don’t allow families to pick the apples themselves anymore. You have to get them from the Apple house which just isn’t the same. We are fortunate though to have a couple other Orchards nearby that allow self picking up the apples. Also the Apple picture on G+ that accompanies this poem was taken right behind my house in the neighbor’s backyard. I grew up in the city and moved to a semi rural area. Funny thing is when we looked at our property before buying it we could not see the proprty behind us because there was so much brush. So when we finally cleared the brush and discovered the apple trees it was like it was perfectly meant to be all along. The neighbor is quite elderly and he allows us to pick the apples in exchange for cleaning up all of the fallen apples. It’s a really nice arrangement and we are fortunate to have good neighbors.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’m sorry I didn’t mean to make you cry or to bring back memories which bring pain but I do that all the time,i visit all the places we as kids with our father used to visit,i show my son around,everything,it’s all so fresh in my memory that i find it amazing,i take my son to those same places so we can have something that connects through the generations,hopefully…i found it beautiful that your neighbour has an apple tree and let’s you pick apples,that must be good for you as your father’s child and to your children too,lovely story Sandy,keep him alive I say as long as you can, i know they will live as long as be think of them…God bless and thank you for sharing a personal part of your life with me,i love getting to know you…love and hugs

        Like

Leave a Reply

