Her Laughter

Baby and Butterfly

Her laughter floats on air

She fills a crowded room

Giggling with joy

Baby rolls over

And my eyes fill with tears
I want to bring her home

I want to be her Mother

I want to believe love will find a way

Yet I must leave her room
not knowing her destiny

And in this moment
I feel impoverished

I can only hope she will find her family

Before her tears begin to fall

Longing for a family
she may never know

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I wrote this expression after a recent visit to an orphanage in China.  It is not really a poem in a traditional sense.  I cannot fully describe the feelings in my heart.  “Impoverishment” is the only word which comes to mind ~ The want to do more for this baby girl and all the other orphans left behind throughout the world.  Though, my moments of feeling impoverished hardly compare to the long-term feelings of emotional impoverishment this girl may come to know as an orphan.  If you would like to learn more about helping orphans in China, please visit Chinese Children Adoption International    

w0rds: (c) s l jennings “Her Laughter”

image: google common license ~ I do not own rights to the above image

 

About spiritedpoet

No online identity can truly define me. I am a kamakaze pilot of life. I have a navigation panel with controls, but I understand I cannot control external elements. I believe I am spirited with God (Love) to guide my life. I am human in my strength and my frailty. I somehow safely navigate my children through life's trial and errors. I proudly wear each stripe on my Mom's uniform; though, I still love the silky feel of soft négligée against my skin. I am human after all. Welcome to my Spirited Poet blog. Welcome to me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Her Laughter

  1. beautifully heartfelt your poem and your sentiment Sandy,i wish we had the resources to do so much for all these children,all across the world,bless you heart,i’m touched by your sentiments,you’re a beautiful soul.

    Like

Leave a Reply

