Adventures of Tom Sawyer & I


Tom Sawyer“When you put your hand in a flowing stream, you touch the last that has gone before and the first of what is still to come.”
                                                                                                    – Leonardo DaVinci
May there come a time
Beyond circumstance
To embark on our journey
To a place only we know
To leave the riverbank
Into unchartered waters
One compass to serve our soul
Gracefully floating into infinity
You Tom Sawyer and I your raft
In explorations of true selves
Our hearts will sing joy to each other
Each day our own to call
No longer pulled by the current
Unspoken words our language
We speak of sorrows no more
For our sorrows become birds
Who drift on heavenly breezes
To remind us to live in this moment
I the raft beneath you Tom Sawyer
You effortlessly row
Beyond past destinies
Our adventure our own
Geography irrelevant
We find our home within
completion of each other
You Tom Sawyer and I your raft
Together
We float on

(c)2015 S L Jennings aka Sandy Somewhere
“The Adventures of Tom Sawyer & I”

About spiritedpoet

No online identity can truly define me. I am a kamakaze pilot of life. I have a navigation panel with controls, but I understand I cannot control external elements. I believe I am spirited with God (Love) to guide my life. I am human in my strength and my frailty. I somehow safely navigate my children through life's trial and errors. I proudly wear each stripe on my Mom's uniform; though, I still love the silky feel of soft négligée against my skin. I am human after all. Welcome to my Spirited Poet blog. Welcome to me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Adventures of Tom Sawyer & I

  1. growing up i was so spellbound by Tom Sawyer and Huckleberry Finn’s adventures that i dreamed of sailing on the Mississippi with them…i loooove this poem,what a beautiful world it would be if you could just sail away without a care,you wrote beautifully Sandy…amazing work …love hugs

    Like

Leave a Reply

