Nebraska

Dirt Road

I walk in the wide open spaces of my youth; memories of my grandparent’s farm

narrowly unmasked
amidst tall wheat
dried, cracked earth
fashions a path
my barefeet feel
heat in dirt beneath
golden durham spikelets
dance on silent breezes
to tenderly touch my shoulders
ticklish sensations sweep me
to stretch my lips into a smile
I meet a hill’s gentle ascent
I cannot feel its effort
my mind lost in destination
mudslide moments wash away
I lie down amidst azure gold
white puffs float in ocean blue
as western skies fill my being
coyotes howl sunset moments
earth and sky become one
adrift in magnificence
time lifts her burden
and I am lost
never to be found
Nebraska

(c) s l jennings “Nebraska” poem

About spiritedpoet

No online identity can truly define me. I am a kamakaze pilot of life. I have a navigation panel with controls, but I understand I cannot control external elements. I believe I am spirited with God (Love) to guide my life. I am human in my strength and my frailty. I somehow safely navigate my children through life's trial and errors. I proudly wear each stripe on my Mom's uniform; though, I still love the silky feel of soft négligée against my skin. I am human after all. Welcome to my Spirited Poet blog. Welcome to me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Nebraska

  1. oh so beautiful your poem is Sandy,almost like walking in the picture,beautiful post,great imagery and image…love it 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

